Migrantweb.com Hostels Forum Forum Index Migrantweb.com Hostels Forum
Hostels were used to accommodate new Australians. 1950's-1970's

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Maribyrnong/ 'Midway' hostel, Melbourne
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Migrantweb.com Hostels Forum Forum Index -> General Chat:
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Pamie Pamie has been starred

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 1:24 am    Post subject: Maribyrnong/ 'Midway' hostel, Melbourne Reply with quote

Hi

My name's Pamie Fung and I'm a postgrad student. I've been very interested in the migrant hostels for about 2 years now. It all started with a visit to the Maribyrnong Detention Centre in Melbourne. From there I couldn't help but notice that there were a lot of odd looking buildings next door. So one day I went around to the student accommodation site next door and found a Nissen hut and all these other traces from the time when the place was a migrant hostel.

From there on, I've been talking to people who stayed at the hostel when it was 'Maribyrnong' and later - after the '60s when it became 'Midway' hostel. I've also been really interested in the company - Commonwealth Hostels Limited and the many migrant staff members of CHL. So I think it's great that this website exists, and would be more than happy if you'd like to have a chat with me about Maribyrnong hostel or living at a migrant hostel in general or even the company. Thanks (this has become a very long introduction!). I'll have a good browse through this great website as well!

Pamie
Len

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome Pamie, it�s great to have you here. The more people that join-up with us then the much better chances we have of having our questions answered.