Migrantweb.com Hostels Forum Forum Index Migrantweb.com Hostels Forum
Hostels were used to accommodate new Australians. 1950's-1970's

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The ships
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Migrantweb.com Hostels Forum Forum Index -> General Chat:
View previous topic :: View next topic  
David worboys

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:06 am    Post subject: The ships Reply with quote

Hi everyone,
I have read a lot in these pages, about the ships we all came out here on and can tell you that I have been on most of them and was one of the first persons to witness the disembarkation of their migrant pasengers. I was a Customs Officer, stationed in Melbourne between 1965 and 1974 and believe you me it was the most interesting work, really a pleasure and what's more getting paid, to be at the dockside,usually Port Melbourne and watch the big ships tugged in, then seeing all the wondering faces on their way to the life I had experienced when first arriving here in 1954. David Worboys/Draper
Robert (Bob) Taylor

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 6:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi David, brought back memories reading about your career at Port Melbourne, as mentioned in some of my earlier posts.
We came though there in March 1960 on the Fairsky. As an 11 year old my memory was that it was a fairly simple to go ashore no dramas like today.
From your memory towards 1974 did it change at that time,or is it only the latter years, with all the accent on drugs and the watch for plant and food menaces?
Cheers, Bob.
Bob Prince

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote